El Chalten was magical. I got engaged here so it will always hold an incredibly warm place in my memory. Hiking to Laguna Torre on our second day was the moment when I was most reminded of why I decided to do this trip across South America. I always feel most at peace when I am able to connect with nature and meditate regularly. While living in NYC, I had a very difficult time connecting with that side of me, and I could feel the absence of it in my daily life. My experiences this past month have reminded me that spending time outdoors is something I need to continue to make a priority, even when I’m back in the states. While in El Chalten we did multiple day hikes into Parque Nacional Los Glaciers and trekked across Glacier Viedma. I also went outdoor rock climbing for my first time and loved it! Travis accidentally sat on a poisonous caterpillar that burned through his pants and scarred his left butt cheek. Two weeks later the scab is still there. At first he was in a lot of pain so I didn’t laugh, but my self-discipline was short lived. I hope you all enjoy our El Chalten photos! 



















2 thoughts on “Flesh Burning Caterpillars, Fitz Roy, and other gems in El Chalten

Leave a comment